Spotlight: Sami Rahamim

Today I would like to take the time to reflect on a special individual who has used their faith as a support for their activism: Sami Rahamim, a 17 year old Jewish teen from Minnesota. After Sami’s father was killed by a past employee, Sami pursued his passion for activism and spoke out against gun violence in response to his father’s death. The result? Him sitting two seats away from President Obama at a discussion against gun violence in Minnesota.

Sami and his father, Reuven.
Credit: Religion News Service photo courtesy Sami Rahamim

Read the Huffington Post article here.

I personally find this story extremely inspiring! Looking back on my own life, there have been so many times that I have thought to myself, “I am too young to do that,” or even worse, “I am too young to make a difference.” Sami shows that is far from true. At 17 this kid has done more than most people do after graduating college, and the passion behind it all is truly inspiring.

Along with the love of his father, Sami is inspired by his Jewish faith. Like many activists, his faith gives him strength and guidance. I know that for me personally, I can sometimes get so lost in the activism part that I forget the reason why I am doing it. My personal relationship with God can get put to the back burner and suffer because I am not making it the main reason for my work. Sami continues to be a great example, showing us how putting our religion or non religion at the forefront of our activism can lead us to do even more for the world around us.

“One of the things I am working toward is to be known for advocacy, not for the unfortunate circumstance that put me here.”

How different would the world be if we all had that attitude? How different would the world be if we all wanted to be known for what we put into the world rather than what wrongs have happened to us? What if instead of having the negative things in our life be weigh us down, we made them the wind in our sails?

Think of all of the good we could create. Together.

Leave a Reply

